Page 1 of 1

Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:34 am
by Cynyx
If u want to have the same system than in HL2DM in order to find servers (mean not go on a random server but on a server u want). You have 2 options:

option 1 :
enable console for the game "Left 4 Dead"
(it's the same method than HL2DM, but with selecting L4D in ur game browser see here how :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18)

and type in it :

Code: Select all

openserverbrowser
but u need to type this command each time u need it ...

or u can :

option 2 : a permanent solution

step 1 : edit the file named "MainMenu.res", u can find it in the directory "...\Steam\steamapps\common\left 4 dead\left4dead\resource\UI\L4D360UI" (before make a backup of the file)

step 2 : add the following lines before the last "{" :

Code: Select all

// Server Browser
"BtnOpenServer"
{
"ControlName" "L4D360HybridButton"
"fieldName" "BtnOpenServer"
"xpos" "100"
"ypos" "175" [$X360]
"ypos" "165" [$WIN32]
"wide" "180" [$X360]
"wide" "180" [$WIN32]
"tall" "20" [$X360]
"tall" "15" [$WIN32]
"autoResize" "1"
"pinCorner" "0"
"visible" "1"
"enabled" "1"
"tabPosition" "0"
"navUp" "BtnPlaySolo"
"navDown" "BtnStatsAndAchievements"
"labelText" "OPEN SERVER BROWSER"
"tooltiptext" "Look for a server using the server list."
"style" "MainMenuButton"
"command" "OpenServerBrowser"
"ActivationType" "1"
"FocusDisabledBorderSize" "1"
} 
if all is ok, u may have a nice menu on ur interface called "OPEN SERVER BROWSER" as the following menu :

Image

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:03 pm
by SoOPaH
when I active the console, I can see it at first start of game, but in game it does'nt works :s


but nice tips for server browser!!! :cool2:

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:26 pm
by Roundup
SoOPaH wrote:when I active the console, I can see it at first start of game, but in game it does'nt works :s
Same for me :upset:

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:02 pm
by Cynyx
I have console when i want !

Image


and solution is simple : bind a key for console !

example :

Code: Select all

bind "F12" "showconsole" 
or better :
create a file named autoexec.cfg,
write into this previous line
and place the file in "..\Steam\SteamApps\common\left 4 dead\left4dead\cfg"

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:16 am
by SoOPaH
yes, with autoexec that work, i tryed with lauching option



Code: Select all

alias regview "thirdpersonshoulder;c_thirdpersonshoulderaimdist 210;cam_idealdist 15;c_thirdpersonshoulderoffset 18;c_thirdpersonshoulderheight 5;cam_ideallag 1;cam_idealyaw -3"
bind "f10" "regview" 
try this ;)

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:01 pm
by KIO
Or you may even be craaaaazy enough to look into keyboard options...:)))) its just there...

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:21 pm
by Cynyx
KIO wrote:Or you may even be craaaaazy enough to look into keyboard options...:)))) its just there...
as for HL2DM, it was not working for me.

Re: Get the f***ing servers browser

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:09 am
by DHR_000x
omg that shit is complicated.... i will have to take a free day to configure the game XDD :zombie: