[L4D] Testing server

Comments and suggestions about E=mc² servers

[L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:12 am

I have just installed a Left 4 Dead server.

You can find it at the following adress :
Code: Select all
91.121.155.198:27090


In fact, you can find it when you launch L4D, the server is linked to the E=mc² group :

Image

Today, we played (DHR, KIO and me) on it, and it was fun.
It's another gameplay than HL2DM, change mind :).
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] server

Postby DHR_000x on Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:46 am

Only funny? I was lmfao with your nigga luck :zombie:

Next to join the server? Darkius :banana: :banana: :banana:
Image
User avatar
DHR_000x
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Zürich. Switzerland

Re: [L4D] server

Postby Cynyx on Sat Jan 03, 2009 1:01 am

hope to meet more E=mc² players on it in same time.
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Roundup on Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:18 am

OMG, so good mate! :metal:, you are the best !
The hell is paved with good minds.
User avatar
Roundup
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:17 am
Location: France, Savoie

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Sat Jan 03, 2009 8:06 pm

Even if it's better if the server host clan members, all clan members are free to create a lobby (and choose map to be played) via the game interface. Just click on the server on the main menu and let's follow the next menus.
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:02 pm

Or we can always play on our server anyway, just we have to use the command me and cynyx found yesterday, but which i cant remember now:)))
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:32 pm

actions after this post :
viewtopic.php?p=17551#p17551

- admin rights are back
- server is updated (v1.0.1.2 (Linux, Dedicated, Protocol 7))
- server will be updated everytime it will be rebooted (all E=mc² servers are rebooted at least once per day at 6.00 am GMT)

(Sorry i haven't tested because i'm a little drunk due to a little party :beer:)
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:57 pm

Veeery nice:) Now we always have a place to play on.. Thanks, CYnyx
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby DARKIUSMAXIMUS on Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:03 am

yeah nice work mate hope ur party was good :-P
BETTER CLAN MATES YOU COULDENT WISH FOR
User avatar
DARKIUSMAXIMUS
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1133
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:22 am
Location: SCOTLAND

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Tue May 12, 2009 9:33 pm

After each (or near each) server update, admin rights are lost on the server.
After some works on my custom script, i think i just resolved the issue.
Need to be tested with next update. :D
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Tue May 26, 2009 8:01 pm

During resolving a system crash of a E=mc² server, i must reboot many servers ... and i found that : L4D server has never been scheduled to be reboot everyday...... so the script i made to auto-update the server was never called... my nice script never called => how to lose time to make and test a thing and ... not apply it ... Newbie mistake ... This will be solved ...
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Tue May 26, 2009 9:28 pm

Lol, hm, thats why peiople were complaining that the server was too laggy. I had NO lag at all, but they said need to reboot server.
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:54 pm

With some difficulties (steam servers seem to be busy and some files were wrong), server is updated.
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:06 am

...and we couldnt play on it:))
Force connecting wouldnt work and when i manually joined the server, it only had old maps + l4d_garage maps, no Versus garage maps...
But, from a small update that was released just now, i can say that the server is perfectly fine, its just its controls are weird. When trying to force join a crash course versus game, it gives a "Disconnecting -" message.. Nothing more, just a "-". But, from what i think, they no longer make separate maps for versus and campaign... E.g. Before it was l4d_farm01 and l4d_vs_farm01.. so, u could choose like that from the map list in admin menu. Now, there is just the l4d_garage01 map, no "vs", but there is a "mp_gamemode" variable... so, in the update it says, "map l4d_garage01_alleys versus" will have the same map, but in versus mode, and thats why it is missing from the map list...
The only thing i dont understand is whose fault it is that the lobby doesnt configure the server correctly. Is it the server that has a bad script of choosing the map, so when a versus lobby tries to connect, it looks for l4d_vs_garage map, which is missing.. Or is it the lobby that is just fucked up. But, now with this small update it says:
***Made the variable "mp_gamemode" available again.***
So, this could fix the problem anyway, ill give it a try tomorrow during the day, given that the server updates itself ok. Also, it would be nice if we could control the "gamemode" variable through the admin stuff, since now it is so important because they dont make double maps...
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:39 am

Just tried force connecting to our server from lobby.
First of all, it doesnt go to our server! looks like the "ms_forcededicated" command no longer works at all! Because i tried force connecting to other servers and it didnt work. I ll have a look for possible ways to make it work.
Second, it is still impossible to get versus garage on our server still, after i manually connect to it.

EDIT: Looked through steampowered forums, they have screwed up half of the game with the update, as usual. The ms_forcededicated command is a cheat now, but doing sv_cheats 1 in console doesnt help. It does change the sv_cheats to 1, but the force command still doesnt work. People say there are lots of other new bugs too..
This is what they have been doing all this time - inventing new bugs.
Just realised, there is a new command mm_dedicated_servers or smth.. gonna go try that...


MOAR EDIT: yeah, tried mm_dedicated_force_servers 91.121.155.198:27090 - this DOES work. So you CAN join the specified server. Since I am alone right now, i can only join a campaign game on our servre. So, i can confirm that u can force join the server as campaign. Gonna find a friend and try joining a versus then. If that works, it shouldnt be a big problem that u cant manually change map to versus mode of the garage...

VERSUS WORKS TOO
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:45 pm

User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Wed Sep 30, 2009 7:28 pm

Yeah, the second update came out later at night. The ms_force_dedicated command was not working before the second update, neither was it after the update, but then they gave the new command.
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:55 pm

new update manually forced and applied on the server :
http://store.steampowered.com/news/2886/
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Fri Oct 02, 2009 1:39 am

Oooo! nice one... i thought it was luck that update came out before 6am!:)) and u did it. Thanks, cynyx, played during the day and at night on the server, thanks.
Btw, can u pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaase give me a list of commands available to me through console, not only menu. I dont mean all commands, just most useful ones.
Like, there is a "change name" command in the menu, but it changes the name to smth weird. Im sure there must be a command like "sm_change_name Player1 to Player2" or something. Would be very useful, because there are trolls on servers sometimes, so i could rename them to Troll:)
Or, i have asked before, if u could kick someone through console or chat and have a message, like in the menu when u ban someone, there is a "Reason" option, which shows up to them, i guess. So, is there something like "sm_ban Player1 for 10 minutes, reason: you are a bad person"? and same for kick.
And it would be great if there was a command to set ALL player's gravity to some value. Because sometimes, when the enemy team rages, we have fun with friends with lowg, and its boring to set it through menu for everyone. One command for all must exist, i guess.
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby DHR_000x on Fri Oct 02, 2009 6:42 pm

[E=mc² Fan] Troll

:zombie:
Image
User avatar
DHR_000x
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:40 pm
Location: Zürich. Switzerland

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby Cynyx on Sun Oct 04, 2009 3:19 pm

KIO wrote: Btw, can u pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaase give me a list of commands available to me through console, not only menu. I dont mean all commands, just most useful ones.

I think nothing out the menu because admin rights on based on it.

KIO wrote: Like, there is a "change name" command in the menu, but it changes the name to smth weird. Im sure there must be a command like "sm_change_name Player1 to Player2" or something. Would be very useful, because there are trolls on servers sometimes, so i could rename them to Troll:)

I think not ... and it's a good thing. As a player, i really be angry if admin change my name ... and i think Source not allowed that.

KIO wrote: Or, i have asked before, if u could kick someone through console or chat and have a message, like in the menu when u ban someone, there is a "Reason" option, which shows up to them, i guess. So, is there something like "sm_ban Player1 for 10 minutes, reason: you are a bad person"? and same for kick.

I need to check this point ... but there is a chat in the game isn't ?

KIO wrote: And it would be great if there was a command to set ALL player's gravity to some value. Because sometimes, when the enemy team rages, we have fun with friends with lowg, and its boring to set it through menu for everyone. One command for all must exist, i guess.

It's not a stock option for the normal game ...
User avatar
Cynyx
E=mc² Member, Site Admin
 
Posts: 3946
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:11 pm
Location: France, Paris

Re: [L4D] Testing server

Postby KIO on Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:08 pm

Well, some players want other people to be angry, so i dont mind them being angry:) Oh well, ill just ban them then. Its ok, if u dont know the commands, dont bother looking, i was just curious:) Thanks anyway.
QOTD: O2 Broadband Usage policy:"...you can download as much as you like, but not more than 100GB per month..."
Image
User avatar
KIO
E=mc² member
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: UK, London


Return to E=mc² Servers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron